At The Bookstore this Week – 3/4/15

We’re excited about:

The new novel by local author Michele Young-Stone, Above Us Only Sky.  A beautiful and majestic novel, we think you should check out this unique tale for yourself.

Above Us Only Sky

 

 

 

 

 

The new picture book by Kadir Nelson, If You Plant a Seed. (Careful, if you come in when Meaghan’s working she’ll make it you read it, it’s just that adorable!)

If You Plant a Seed

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’re reading:

Barbara: The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell (one of Meaghan’s favorite authors, “He can do no wrong!”). Just finished: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – “I loved it!” (it’s a favorite among all of the Island Bookstore staff) and the 2014 Booker Award Winner The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan – “Very, very good!”

All the Light We Cannot See Bone Clocks Narrow Road Deep North

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bill: Still Alice by Lisa Genova – “I loved it, I loved the whole book, the people, the setting, and the resolutions, I liked everything. It’s really good.”

Still Alice

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cindy just finished:. Being Mortal by Atul Gawande – “It’s about getting old; Bill liked it, but for me, it’s pretty depressing.” & Smoke Gets in Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty – “Clinical but gory.”

Being Mortal Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lori Jo: Seven for a Secret by Lindsay Faye – “I really liked Gods of Gotham [the first book] and I wanted to keep reading the series. I love it so far.” Just finished: Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani – “Another series, I wanted to see how it turned out.”

Seven for a Secret Supreme Macaroni Company

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meaghan: Seveneves by Neal Stephenson – “The perfect novel for all us who went to Space Camp but lacked the ability to pass physics and become real astronauts. Engaging, disturbing and epic.” Also: Portrait of a Spy by Daniel Silva – “My first Daniel Silva/Gabriel Allon; I like it so far, but I wish I had started with the first in the series.”

Seveneves

Portrait of a Spy

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melissa: Sisters of Heart and Snow by Margaret Dilloway – “I just started it, but I like it so far. I read her other books, so I wanted to try this one, too.”

Sisters of Heart and Snow

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

