Q and A with Kathryn O’Sullivan

Edgar Award Winner author Kathryn O’Sullivan is back with the third book in her series featuring Corolla Fire Chief Colleen McCabe. You have three chances to meet Kathryn this week and get signed copies of all her books:

Tuesday    June 30  10-12PM  Gold’n’Gifts, Seagate North Shopping Center, MP 5.5, KDH

Wednesday   July 1 1-3PM Island Bookstore, Scarborough Faire Shops, Duck

Thursday  July 2  11AM-1PM   Island Bookstore, Corolla Historic Village

Kathryn O'Sullivan Q: What’s the title of your new book?
A: The title of my new book is “Neighing with Fire” and features Fire Chief Colleen McCabe, the Corolla wild horses, Colleen’s Border collie Sparky, and the colorful characters of Corolla.

Q: Describe the book in one sentence.
A: “Neighing with Fire” is a fun summer read that has Fire Chief Colleen McCabe once again helping Sheriff Bill Dorman find a killer – this time while keeping an eye on arsons on the mainland, dodging bridesmaid responsibilities, and negotiating tensions between the passionate inhabitants committed to protecting Corolla’s wild horses and those protecting the piping plover shore bird.

Q: What books are on your bedside table?
A: Right now I’m reading two books – Maggie Barbieri’s thriller “Once Upon a Lie” and Sherry Harris’s cozy “Tagged for Death” – a delicious bittersweet combination!

Q: How long have you been writing?
A: I’ve been writing since I was a child – mostly short stories for my mother – but didn’t get serious until the late Neighing with Fire 1990s when I earned my MFA in dramatic writing from Carnegie Mellon University. I started out writing plays and screenplays and then expanded to fiction a few years ago. It’s been wonderful discovering the differences between fiction and dramatic writing and bouncing between the two.

Q: Book you wish you could read again for the first time?
A: I don’t have one. I have a terrible memory for the little details of a book if many years have passed since reading it. This makes it possible for me to experience the joy of the stories anew. Even if I generally remember the plot and how everything turns out it feels fresh all over again. All I need to do is let enough time pass and I get that first-time experience again!

Q: Favorite book and why:
A: My favorite book is Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice.” I love her sense of humor, her insights into human nature, how quickly the story moves, and how accessible it is to people of all ages.

Q: What brings you to the Outer Banks?
A: Since my family started vacationing in the Outer Banks when I was a teenager, I’ve felt part of me belongs here. I love looking for shells on the beach, watching the ocean breeze blow over the dune grass, visiting the wild horses (They roamed free in Corolla when I was a teen.), watching the spectacular sunrises and sunsets, interacting with the people, seeing the dolphins in the early morning, and experiencing all the wonderful attractions and restaurants. I hope my love of the Outer Banks comes across in the books and helps those who are unable to visit to experience its beauty and those who are able to visit to appreciate the area even more. The Outer Banks is truly a special place.

Leave a Reply

