Q and A with Janice Kingsbury

Local children’s author, Janice Kingsbury, will join us at our Scarborough Faire Store in Duck this Wednesday from 1-3PM to sign copies of her latest book, Chihuahuas Like Cheese. Get to know Janice before you go!

Janice KingsburyQ: What’s the title of your new book?
A: I first published, Lexi Goes on Vacation to the Outer Banks. Just this past week, I released, Chihuahuas Like Cheese, which also takes place in the Outer Banks.Chihuahuas Love Cheese

Q: Describe the book in one sentence.
A: Lexi Goes on Vacation to the Outer Banks is a heartfelt tale about family, tradition, vacations in the Outer Banks, and rescue dogs. Chihuahuas Like Cheese is an action packed, fun tale about a Chihuahua’s vacation in the Outer Banks and the lessons he learns while here.

Q: What books are on your bedside table?
A: I just finished reading Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline and Girl on a Train by Paula Hawkins. I just picked up The Opposite of Loneliness, Marina Keegan. I love children’s books also.

Q: How long have you been writing?
A: I published my first story at 6 years old while in 1st Grade and published an article for a magazine. During my career as a teacher and School Psychologist I wrote reports constantly, but I didn’t write a book until recently. After leaving the public school system, I had more time to write creatively. Last year, with encouragement from my husband and friends, I released Lexi Goes on Vacation to the Outer Banks to the public.

Q: Book you wish you could read again for the first time?
A: I loved She’s Come Undone, by Wally Lamb. I haven’t found another book like it.

Q: Favorite book and why:
A: I have so many favorite books, but I guess I would have to choose my first “coming of age” book, Little Women [Louisa May Alcott]. I remember how much I loved it when I was a child. I read it five times. I didn’t want to watch the movie and spoil my memories of the book and my images of the four sisters.

Q: What brings you to the Outer Banks?
A: I live in the Outer Banks in Duck for part of the year. We’ve been coming to Duck for 11 or 12 years and expect that we will make it our full time residence in the near future. I’ve always said that the Outer Books is where I am most creative. It’s magical here and sooths the soul!

Leave a Reply

