Q & A with Barbara Springfield

Barbara Springfield Local children’s author, Barbara Springfield, will join us this Thursday at the Duck Town Park pavilion at 10AM during Story Time. Ms. Springfield will read from her illustrated picture book, The Pinecone Walk. Learn a little about the writer behind the story before you come out! Afterwards, head back to our Scarborough Faire store to talk with Ms. Springfield and purchase a signed copy of her book!

 

 

Q: What’s the title of your new book? The Pinecone Walk
A: My two children’s books are The Pinecone Walk and Kate Wait!

Q: Describe the book in one sentence.
A: The Pinecone Walk is a rhyming story about a little girl and her grandfather who go on a walk in search of pinecones, but along the way they discover treasures found in nature.
Kate, Wait!, a rhyming story about my border collie dog who used to herd sheep, but now herds waves and balls within reach, because she now lives full-time at the beach.

Q: What books are on your bedside table?
A: Books about Alaska, because I am heading there next week. One book, If You Lived Here, I’d Know Your Name by Heather Lende is one that I am packing in my suitcase.

Q: How long have you been writing?
A: I have been writing since I was 10 years old. I still have a box of books in my attic written in my childhood scrawl.

Q: Book you wish you could read again for the first time?
A: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

Q: Favorite book and why:
A: Non-fiction is the genre that I enjoy the most. I have too many favorites, but A Very Small Farm by William Paul Winchester is one that I recently fell in love with.

Q: What brings you to the Outer Banks
A: Fate. I still look around and say, “How did I get here?”

Leave a Reply

