Q & A Part II with Janice Kingsbury

Janice KingsburyChildren’s author Janice Kingsbury returns for a second signing with us at our Scarborough Faire Days Summer Signing event! In this series of questions, we dig a little deeper into Ms. Kingsbury’s writing life. Don’t forget to come by and pick your signed copy of her new illustrated picture book, Chihuahuas Like Cheese!Chihuahuas Love Cheese

Now that we’ve gotten to know your new work and a little about your love of reading, maybe you can share with us a few things about your writing life.

Q: Once again, when did you start writing?
A: I’ve always enjoyed writing and had a story published in 1st grade. Mostly I wrote for my own enjoyment or for my job. It was after years of meeting people on Duck Beach, answering questions, and telling stories, that I started to think about writing a book.

Q: What was your first published piece?
A: My first book was Lexi Goes on Vacation to the Outer Banks.

Q: Tell us about a day in your writing life:
A: It changes from day to day. Mostly, I go with my thoughts. If an idea or thought hits me, I try and write it down as soon as I’m close to a computer. Other days are spent delivering books, meeting new people, connecting with new customers, and promoting my books here and online.

Q: What advice do you have for young writers starting out?
A: Write because you love it and you enjoy being creative. Write about something you love and know about and want to share with others. The rest will fall into place.

Q: What is your favorite quote about writing?

A: Actually there are many, but here are three of my favorites:

You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children. -Madeleine L’Engle

A wounded deer leaps the highest –Emily Dickenson

Words are a lens to focus one’s mind. –Ayn Rand

Leave a Reply

